InterKontinental

Publishing House for African and Afrodiasporic Literature

About us

Books

Blackass

A. Igoni Barrett

„An inventive and playful interpretation of power and identity in modern Nigeria.“

Learn more

Zerstreuung

Lauri Kubuitsile

“Through exquisite, evocative writing, Kubuitsile weaves the story of these two resilient women who must overcome shocking odds in order to survive.”

Learn more

Die Erste Frau

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi

“Remember, be a good person, not a good girl. Good girls suffer a lot in this life.”

Learn more

Could This Be Love?

Stefanie Hirsbrunner (Hrsg.)

"Your love looks like your oppressor, enjoys the privileges of your oppressor. If safe space is where you believe you are free from emotional harm, your white love looks like unsafe space. And dating white feels like betrayal."

Learn more

Authors

Portrait of Igoni A. Barrett in black and white © Femke van Zeijl

A. Igoni Barrett

Lagos

A. Igoni Barrett was born in Port Harcourt, Nigeria, in 1979 and lives in Lagos. He is a winner of the 2005 BBC World Service short story competition, the recipient of a Chinua Achebe Center Fellowship, a Norman Mailer Center Fellowship, and a Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio Center Residency. His short story collection, Love is Power, or Something Like That, was published in 2013. In 2014 he was named on the Africa39 list of sub-Saharan African writers under 40. Blackass is his first novel.

Read more
Portrait of Lauri Kubuitsile in black and white

Lauri Kubuitsile

Mahalapye

Lauri Kubuitsile is a novelist and author of more than 30 children’s books. She has been awarded several awards such as The Golden Baobab Prize for African children’s writing, the winner of the Botswana Ministry of Youth, Sport and Culture’s Botswerere Prize for Creative Writing, and was a finalist for the 2011 Caine Prize. Her books are prescribed reading in schools in Botswana and South Africa.

Her historical novel, The Scattering (Penguin 2016), won Best International Fiction Book 2017 at the Sharjah International Book and was recommended by the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction (UK) 2017. The North American rights have been bought by Waveland Press (USA) and it has been optioned for a film by a German production company.

Her second historical novel But Deliver Us from Evil was published by Penguin in May 2019. It was long-listed for the 2020 NOMMO award. In May 2020, her legal thriller/romance, Revelations, was published by Love Africa Press.

She lives happily in a village in Botswana with her daughter, grandson, three dogs and two cats.

Read more
Portrait of Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi in black and white

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi

Manchester

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi is a Ugandan novelist and short story writer. She has a PhD from Lancaster University. Her first novel, Kintu (Oneworld, 2018), won the Kwani? Manuscript Project in 2013 and was longlisted for the Etisalat Prize in 2014. She was awarded the 2014 Commonwealth Short Story Prize for 'Let's Tell This Story Properly', which featured in her first collection, Manchester Happened (Oneworld, 2019). She was awarded the prestigious Windham-Campbell Prize for Fiction 2018. In 2020, she was selected as one of 100 Most Influential Africans of 2020 by New African magazine. Her second novel The First Woman (Oneworld, 2020) was selected as book of the year by the Sunday Times, Observer, Daily Mail, BBC Culture and the Irish Independent and awarded the Jhalak Prize 2021. She lives in Manchester, and lectures in Creative Writing at various universities in the UK .

Read more

About us

InterKontinental is a Berlin-based independant publisher, focussing on African and Afro-diasporic literature. The publishing house complements the same-named bookstore, opened in 2018 in Berlin-Friedrichshain, and the association for promoting African and Afro-diasporic literature. Our publishing program includes the German translation of those authors who are already widely celebrated by critics and readers alike internationally.

Buchhandlung

InterKontinental is the first bookstore specializing in African and Afro-diasporic literature in Germany. Since 2018, we have been offering the latest selection of fiction (German, English and French), non-fiction on politics and culture, children's and young people's books as well as classics of world literature in the middle of the lively neighborhood on Sonntagstrasse in Berlin-Friedrichshain.

In 2021 we were awarded the German Bookstore Award

African Book Festival Berlin

Once a year InterKontinental e.V. organizes the African Book Festival in Berlin, which brings together the most famous African and Afro-diasporic authors and artists and celebrates the many voices of the African literary scene in Berlin. All projects of the association are designed in terms of content from the African side, which is why the festival curator and thus the content focus changes every year

Contact

InterKontinental

Verlag für afrikanische und afrodiasporische Literatur

Über den Verlag

Bücher

Blackass

A. Igoni Barrett

„Eine erfinderische und spielerische Interpretation von Macht und Identität im modernen Nigeria.“

Mehr erfahren

Die erste Frau

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi

"Denk daran, ein guter Mensch zu sein, nicht ein gutes Mädchen. Gute Mädchen haben viel zu leiden in diesem Leben.“

Mehr erfahren

Zerstreuung

Lauri Kubuitsile

"Zwei Schicksale von Millionen, aber sie verkörpern die bemerkenswerte Widerstandsfähigkeit von Frauen im Verlauf der Geschichte"




Mehr erfahren

Kann das denn Liebe sein?

Stefanie Hirsbrunner (Hrsg.)

"Kann da, wo weiße Vorherrschaft sich lustvoll zum Zwecke der eigenen Unterhaltung wie ein Aasgeier an den Eingeweiden anderer labt, Liebe sein?"

Mehr erfahren

Autor*innen

Portrait von Igoni A. Barrett in schwarz-weiß © Femke van Zeijl

A. Igoni Barrett

Lagos

A. Igoni Barrett wurde in Nigeria in Port Harcourt geboren und lebt in Lagos. Er Stipendiat am Chinua-Achebe-Zentrum, Norman-Mailer-Zentrum sowie am Bellagio-Zentrum der Rockefeller-Stiftung. Seine Kurzgeschichtensammlung Love Is Power, or Something Like That wurde von NPR in den USA zum besten Buch des Jahres 2013 gekürt und liegt noch nicht in deutscher Übersetzung vor. 2014 wurde er auf der Africa39-Liste von 40 Autor*innen unter 40 gelistet, die das Talent und Potential haben, zukünftige Trends in der afrikanischen Literatur zu setzen. Blackass ist sein Debütroman und wurde von der chinesischen Gesellschaft für internationale Literatur mit dem Preis für die besten Bücher des 21. Jahrhunderts ausgezeichnet.

Mehr lesen
Portrait von Lauri Kubuitsile in schwarz-weiß

Lauri Kubuitsile

Mahalapye

Lauri Kubuitsile ist Romanschriftstellerin und Autorin von mehr als 30 Kinderbüchern für verschiedene Altersgruppen. Sie wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen, wie dem Goldenen-Baobab-Preis für Kinderliteratur und dem Botswerere-Preis für kreatives Schreiben des Kulturministeriums in Botswana, ausgezeichnet und war 2011 Finalistin des Caine Prize. Ihre Kinderbücher gehören zur Pflichtlektüre in Schulen in Botswana und Südafrika.

Ihr erster historischer Roman Zerstreuung gewann 2017 den Preis für den besten fremdsprachigen Roman der Internationalen Buchmesse in Sharjah in den Vereinten Arabischen Emiraten. Eine deutsche Produktionsfirma hat bereits die Filmrechte erworben.

Ihr zweiter historischer Roman But Deliver Us from Evil wurde 2019 veröffentlicht und 2020 für den NOMMO Award nominiert. 2020 veröffentlichte sie Revelations, eine Mischung aus Liebesgeschichte und Justizthriller. Beide Romane liegen bisher nicht in deutscher Übersetzung vor.

Sie lebt glücklich mit ihrer Tochter, ihrem Enkelsohn, drei Hunden und zwei Katzen auf dem Land in Botswana.

Mehr lesen
Portrait von Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi in schwarz-weiß

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi

Manchester

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi ist Autorin von Romanen und Kurzgeschichten aus Uganda. Sie promovierte an der Universität von Lancaster in Großbritannien. Ihr Debütroman Kintu gewann 2013 bei einem Manusript-Wettbewerb von Kwani? in Kenia und wurde 2014 für den Etisalat-Preis nominiert. Ihre Kurzgeschichte „Let’s Tell This Story Properly” wurde 2014 mit dem Commonwealth Short Story Prize ausgezeichnet und 2019 in ihrem Kurzgeschichtenband Manchester Happened veröffentlicht. Sie wurde 2018 mit dem renommierten Windham-Campbell-Award ausgezeichnet und 2020 vom New African Magazin zu einer der 100 einflussreichsten afrikanischen Persönlichkeiten erklärt. Ihr zweiter Roman Die erste Frau wurde von der Sunday Times, dem Observer, Daily Mail, BBC Culture und dem Irish Independent zum Buch des Jahres gekürt und 2021 mit dem Jhalak-Preis für Werke von POC-Autor*innen in Großbritannien ausgezeichnet. Sie lebt in Manchester und unterrichtet an verschiedenen Universitäten in Großbritannien kreatives Schreiben.

Mehr lesen

Über uns

InterKontinental ist ein unabhängiger Verlag in Berlin, fokussiert auf afrikanische und afro-diasporische Literatur. Der InterKontinental Verlag ergänzt die seit 2018 bestehende gleichnamige Buchhandlung und den Verein zur Förderung afrikanischer Literatur. In unserem Verlagsprogramm präsentieren wir jene Autor*innen in deutscher Übersetzung, die von Kritiker*innen und Publikum weltweit gefeiert werden.

Buchhandlung

InterKontinental ist die erste Buchhandlung spezialisiert auf afrikanische und afrodiasporische Literatur in Deutschland. Seit 2018 bieten wir mitten im lebendigen Kiez der Sonntagstraße in Berlin-Friedrichshain die neueste Auswahl Belletristik (deutsch, englisch und französisch), Sachbücher zu Politik und Kultur, Kinder- und Jugendbücher sowie Klassiker der Weltliteratur.

2021 wurden wir mit dem Deutschen Buchhandlungspreis ausgezeichnet.

African Book Festival Berlin

Einmal im Jahr veranstaltet InterKontinental e.V. das African Book Festival in Berlin, das die bekanntesten afrikanischen und afro-diasporischen Autor*innen und Künstler*innen in die deutsche Hauptstadt bringt und die vielen lebendigen Stimmen einer afrikanischen Literaturszene feiert. Alle Projekte des Vereins werden inhaltlich von afrikanischer Seite her gestaltet, weshalb jährlich der/die Festival-Kurator*in und damit auch der inhaltliche Schwerpunkt wechselt.

Kontakt

Allgemeine Anfragen

publishing@interkontinental.org